This week on WWE Raw, The Hurt Business challenged New Day for the Raw Tag Team Championships. At one point, the match had to be restarted after both teams got themselves counted out.
However, Bryan Alvarez is reporting on Wrestling Observer Live that the double countout finish was a botch. The plan was reportedly for only New Day to fail to make the count, meaning Hurt Business would have won the match but not the titles:
“I was told that the finish of the match was supposed to be that the Hurt Business would win via count-out but they are supposed to call it like a shoot and they didn’t get in the ring fast enough and so the referee called it a double count-out. Then The New Day, for some weird reason, they were all heelish last night. They start backing up the ramp celebrating that they defended the titles via double count-out and MVP the heel cuts the promo saying, ‘the fans don’t want to see this, you’re not gonna take that are you? Get back in this ring and let’s restart it.’ So yes it was a botch but it wasn’t like a big time botch. It was just one guy who didn’t get back in so instead of a normal count out it was a double count-out.”
For those that don’t know, officials are told not to take into consideration the planned finish of the match when refereeing. They are told to call pins and count outs as a legit shoot, meaning it is up to the wrestlers to executive the spot.
At this time, the plans that WWE has for the seemingly ongoing feud between New Day and The Hurt Business aren’t quite clear. For any potential details on the matter, make sure you stay tuned to WrestleTalk.com.