New Champion Crowned At NXT Battleground

New Champion Crowned At NXT Battleground WWE

A new champion was crowned during tonight’s May 28 WWE NXT Battleground premium live event from Lowell, Massachusetts.

As advertised, the show played host to the final of the NXT Women’s Championship tournament.

The title had been vacated by Indi Hartwell due to seemingly a combination of injury and the fact she was moved to Raw in the WWE Draft.

The final at Battleground was contested by Tiffany Stratton and what many deemed a surprise finalist in Lyra Valkyria.

To get to the final, Stratton had picked up wins against Gigi Dolin and Roxanne Perez.

Valkyria, on the other hand, had beaten Kiana James and Cora Jade.

There was no surprise when it comes to the winner of the final and new NXT Women’s Champion, as it was Tiffany Stratton who scored the win.

Stratton has been applauded by colleagues, fans and management for the progress she’s already shown despite still being very new to wrestling, and now she has a reward to prove that.

Elsewhere during Battleground tonight, there was a heel turn and the formation of a new faction, which you can read about at this link.

The full card for Battleground is as follows:

NXT Championship – Carmelo Hayes (c) vs. Bron Breakker

NXT Women’s Championship – Lyra Valkyria vs. Tiffany Stratton

Heritage Cup Championship – Noam Dar (c) vs. Dragon Lee

NXT Tag Team Championship – Mark Coffey & Wolfgang (c) vs. Brutus & Julius Creed

North American Championship – Wes Lee (c) vs. Joe Gacy vs. Tyler Bate

Last Man Standing – Dijak vs. Ilja Dragunov

If you want to stay fully updated on all the latest wrestling news, click the red bell in the bottom right of your screen to receive notifications from straight to your device!

4 months ago by Liam Winnard


JOIN THE WrestleTalk logo mailing list

Get the latest wrestling news straight to your inbox

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from WrestleTalk