Several New Champions Crowned At NJPW Power Struggle

Several New Champions Crowned At NJPW Power Struggle

A number of championships changed hands during the November 6 NJPW Power Struggle event in Osaka, Japan.

In the first title bout of the night, Sho, Yujiro Takahashi and Evil of House of Torture defeated Yoshi-Hashi, Tomohiro Ishii and Hirooki Goto of CHAOS for the NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag-Team Championship, with an assist from Dick Togo distracting the referee.

Later, El Desperado forced Robbie Eagles to tap out to win the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Title. Eagles had defeated El Desperado to begin his reign at Wrestle Grand Slam in July.

A new IWGP United States Champion was crowned during the show, with KENTA besting Hiroshi Tanahashi to claim the gold.

Elsewhere on the card, Kazuchika Okada defeated Tama Tonga to retain his #1 contendership for the IWGP World Heavyweight Championship. The actual title was successfully defended by Shingo Takagi, who was challenged by Zack Sabre Jr.

It has been reported that a NJPW star’s current contract will expire in January, and will likely receive ‘multiple offers’ from different promotions.

To make sure you stay updated with all the latest wrestling news, add to your Google Discover feed and follow us on Twitter!

3 years ago by Sanchez Taylor


Get the latest wrestling news straight to your inbox

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from WrestleTalk