NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament Participants Announced

NJPW Best of the Super Juniors Tournament Participants Announced

New Japan Pro Wrestling’s Best of the Super Juniors Tournament is historically highlights the best junior-heavyweights from all over the world and this year’s tournament looks like it will prove no different.

According to Wrestling Observer  NJPW announced 13 names ready for bracketing: IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion Will Ospreay, Marty Scurll, KUSHIDA, Hiromu Takahashi, BUSHI, Ryusuke Taguchi, Tiger Mask IV, Flip Gordon, El Desparado, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, Dragon Lee and Sho & Yoh.

Flip Gordon and Sho & Yoh are all new faces to the tournament while the other ten wrestlers are returning from last year. Three participants have yet to be announced in the 16-man tournament. It is also worth noting that Dragon Lee is suffering from a partially torn quad. While he is still scheduled to perform in the tournament, a three week recovery timetable for such an injury appears ambitious.

The tournament has produced numerous instant classics in recent years, including last year’s five-star final featuring Will Ospreay vs. KUSHIDA, not to mention the constantly debated 2016 bout between high-flyers Will Ospreay vs. Ricochet.

The tournament will take place from May 18th until June 4th with the winner of the tournament likely facing IWGP Junior Heavyweight Champion Will Ospreay at Dominion on June 9th, unless Ospreay himself wins the tournament.

Who do you think is going to take the last three spots in the tournament? Let us know in the comments below or on our official Twitter page.


5 years ago by Tempest


JOIN THE WrestleTalk logo mailing list

Get the latest wrestling news straight to your inbox

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from WrestleTalk