NJPW G1 Climax Winner Revealed

NJPW G1 Climax Winner Revealed

Kota Ibushi has won his first G1 Climax by defeating Jay White. Ibushi avenged his loss from last year’s tournament final to make history today.

He has become the first man to ever have won the Best of the Super Juniors, the New Japan Cup, and the G1 Climax.

Ibushi won the A Block by defeating Kazuchika Okada on the final day of A Block competition. He finished the competition with 14 points. Conversely, Jay White had won the B Block by defeating Tetsuya Naito in the main event of the B Block Final.

Upon winning the G1 Climax, Ibushi has now earned a shot at the IWGP Heavyweight Championship at Wrestle Kingdom 14. He will have to defend the contract at least once before January 4th, however his opponent for such a match is currently unknown.

The only people who defeated Ibushi in this tournament were KENTA and EVIL. One or both of those two would be in line for a chance at the title shot.

What do you think about Kota Ibushi winning the G1 Climax? Let us know in the comments below, on Twitter or on Discord!

5 years ago by Tempest


Get the latest wrestling news straight to your inbox

By submitting this form, you are consenting to receive marketing emails from WrestleTalk