NJPW Reveals Wrestle Kingdom Preshow Teams

4 years ago by Tempest

NJPW Reveals Wrestle Kingdom Preshow Teams

Wrestle Kingdom 13 is fast approaching and New Japan Pro Wrestling has revealed the teams for their preshow Gauntlet match.

The winners of this five-team Gauntlet match will receive a shot at the NEVER Openweight Six Man Tag Team Championships. The Gauntlet match takes the spot on the Tokyo Dome preshow that has been traditionally held by the New Japan Rumble. The championships are currently held by the trio of Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa, and Taiji Ishimori.

(Video Contains NSFW Language)

The teams that will compete in this Gauntlet match will be:

  • Marty Scurll, Hangman Page and Yujiro Takahashi
  • Minoru Suzuki, Lance Archer and Davey Boy Smith Jr.
  • Ryusuke Taguchi, Togi Makabe and Toru Yano
  • Hirooki Goto, Beretta and Chucky T
  • Michael Elgin, Jeff Cobb and David Finlay

The winners of this match will get a future shot at Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa, and Taiji Ishimori. The current champions are scheduled to compete in high profile matches at Wrestle Kingdom 13. The Tongans will be defending their IWGP Tag Team Championships in a three-way match against The Young Bucks and EVIL & SANADA. Meanwhile, Taiji Ishimori will be challenging KUSHIDA for the IWGP Junior Heavyweight Championship.

Tama Tonga, Tanga Loa, and Taiji Ishimori won their titles from The Young Bucks and Marty Scurll at the G1 Climax Finals. The title win came after the Tongans turned on the rest of the Bullet Club at G1 Special in San Francisco. 

Wrestle Kingdom 13 takes place at the Tokyo Dome on January 4th, 2019.

What team do you think will win the Gauntlet match? Let us know in the comments below, on Twitter or on Discord!

Share this article with friends