PHOTO: NJPW Reveals New Championship

1 week ago by Jamie Toolan

PHOTO: NJPW Reveals New Championship NJPW

Ahead of NJPW Strong Resurgence on Sunday (May 21), the brand new NJPW STRONG Women’s Championship has now been officially unveiled.

The eye-catching design (see below) was shown off to the public for the first time at the NJPW STRONG Resurgence press conference on May 20.

The title will be contested for the very first time with Mercedes Mone, Stephanie Vaquer, Willow Nightingale and Momo Kohgo taking part in a one-night tournament to crown the inaugural champion.

Elsewhere on the stacked card Will Ospreay and Hiroshi Tanahashi will compete in a tournament match, which will see the eventual tournament winner earn a shot at Kenny Omega’s IWGP United States Championship.

Elsewhere fellow AEW stars Juice Robinson, Wheeler Yuta and Jon Moxley will also be in action with Robinson taking on Fred Rosser in a street fight whilst the two Blackpool Combat Club members will be teaming up with Shota Umino to take on CHAOS (Rocky Romero, Tomohiro Ishii & Kazuchika Okada) in a six-man tag match.

The full lineup for NJPW Strong Resurgence is as follows:

NJPW STRONG Women’s Championship Final

IWGP United States Heavyweight Championship Number One Contender’s Tournament: Will Ospreay vs Hiroshi Tanahashi

Rocky Romero, Tomohiro Ishii & Kazuchika Okada vs Wheeler Yuta, Shota Umino & Jon Moxley

NJPW STRONG Openweight Championship: Hikuleo (c) vs KENTA

Street Fight: Juice Robinson vs Fred Rosser

Bad Dude Tito & Zack Sabre Jr. vs Barbaro Cavernario & Virus

NJPW STRONG Women’s Championship Tournament: Momo Kohgo vs Willow Nightingale

NJPW STRONG Women’s Championship Tournament: Mercedes Moné vs Stephanie Vaquer

Alex Coughlin vs Christopher Daniels

The DKC vs Bateman

If you want to stay fully updated on all the latest wrestling news, click the red bell in the bottom right of your screen to receive notifications from straight to your device!

Share this article with friends