NXT Women’s Championship Tournament Final Set For Battleground

2 weeks ago by Amanda Savage

NXT Women’s Championship Tournament Final Set For Battleground WWE

Find out who will face off at WWE’s upcoming premium live event, NXT Battleground for the vacant NXT Women’s Championship.

Find out who advanced in tonight’s WWE NXT semi-final rounds to go on to NXT Battleground to fight for the NXT Women’s Championship!

In the opening match of the night, Cora Jade went to battle with Lyra Valkyria in the first of two semi-final matchups on tonight’s show.

While it was Valkyria who would emerge victoriously, she would be subject to a post-match attack by Cora Jade which left her feeling sore but vowing to continue to press on to NXT Battleground and the tournament final.

In the main event of tonight’s show, Roxanne Perez and Tiffany Stratton put on an exciting match which showcased impressive offense from both rising stars.

However tonight was clearly Stratton’s night as she captured the pinfall victory to advance to the final in the NXT Women’s Championship tournament after hitting her finisher.

The aptly named ‘Prettiest Moonsault Ever’, it is a very pretty moonsault indeed!

After the match, some pandemonium ensued after future foes Valkyria and Stratton were shown having a verbal back and forth over the table that held the WWE NXT Women’s Championship as former champ Roxanne Perez was leaving up the ramp.

She was however then unceremoniously attacked by a hooded attacker before the melee was broken up as Dijak and Ilja Dragunov brawled their way back out to ringside as well to complete their storyline from the night.

While the show saw Dijak and Dragunov face off in several brawls, finally the pair signed their ‘hold harmless’ agreements ahead of their unsanctioned match at this Sunday’s NXT Battleground.

You can keep up with all the latest NXT news by clicking this link. 

The card for NXT Battleground on Sunday, May 28 is as follows:

NXT Championship – Carmelo Hayes (c) vs. Bron Breakker

NXT Women’s Championship – Lyra Valkyria vs. Tiffany Stratton

Heritage Cup Championship – Noam Dar (c) vs. Dragon Lee

NXT Tag Team Championship – Mark Coffey & Wolfgang (c) vs. Brutus & Julius Creed

North American Championship – Wes Lee (c) vs. Joe Gacy vs. Tyler Bate

Last Man Standing – Dijak vs. Ilja Dragunov

If you want to stay fully updated on all the latest wrestling news, click the red bell in the bottom right of your screen to receive notifications from WrestleTalk.com straight to your device!

Share this article with friends