WWE World Heavyweight Championship Tournament Competitors Revealed

1 month ago by SP3

WWE World Heavyweight Championship Tournament Competitors Revealed WWE

WWE has revealed the World Heavyweight Championship tournament competitors.

As previously reported, WWE CCO Triple H revealed that the tournament to determine the inaugural World Heavyweight Championship will kick off on the May 8 edition of Raw.

There will be two triple threat matches with the winners of each facing off in the main event of Raw, while there will be two more triple threat matches on SmackDown with the winners of those facing in the main event.

The winners from each show will face in the tournament finals at Night Of Champions on Saturday, May 27 from Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

On May 7, WWE released a video on their social media platforms revealing the 12 stars who will compete in the tournament. From Monday Night Raw, Seth Rollins, Finn Balor, Damian Priest, The Miz, Shinsuke Nakamura and Cody Rhodes will compete to advance to the finals on the May 8 episode.

From Friday Night SmackDown, United States Champion Austin Theory, AJ Styles, Bobby Lashley, Rey Mysterio, Edge and Sheamus will compete on the May 12 episode.

WWE has yet to confirm who will compete in the two triple threat matches on each show as of this writing.

Full results from Backlash were as follows:

Raw Women’s Championship – Bianca Belair (c) def. IYO SKY

Seth ‘Freakin’ Rollins def. Omos

United States Championship – Austin Theory (c) def. Bobby Lashley, Bronson Reed

SmackDown Women’s Championship – Rhea Ripley (c) def. Zelina Vega

San Juan Street Fight – Bad Bunny def. Damian Priest

Solo Sikoa & The Usos def. Sami Zayn, Kevin Owens & Matt Riddle

Cody Rhodes def. Brock Lesnar

If you want to stay fully updated on all the latest wrestling news, click the red bell in the bottom right of your screen to receive notifications from WrestleTalk.com straight to your device!

Share this article with friends