Charlotte Flair Hits Impressive WWE Title Milestone

3 months ago by Sanchez Taylor

Charlotte Flair Hits Impressive WWE Title Milestone WWE

WWE SmackDown Women’s Champion Charlotte Flair’s recent title win means that, on the first day of 2023, she kept an impressive streak alive.

Flair has dominated every WWE brand since her debut for the company in 2013, winning gold on NXT, Raw and SmackDown.

After months away from the ring, The Queen returned to WWE TV on the December 30 edition of SmackDown and pinned Ronda Rousey to become the last SmackDown Women’s Champion of 2022, and the first of 2023.

Because Flair started 2023 with the gold, it means that Flair has held a WWE title every year in WWE since 2014.

This means that Flair has held at least one women’s title in WWE for every year in the last 10 consecutive calendar years.

Flair won her first WWE title in 2014, when she won the vacant NXT Women’s Championship at NXT TakeOver 2014. She started 2015 as the NXT Women’s Champion, but ended the year on the main roster with the Divas Championship.

At WrestleMania 32 in 2016, Flair’s Divas Title was retired, and The Queen defeated Sasha Banks and Becky Lynch to become the inaugural Raw Women’s Champion.

She held both the Raw and SmackDown Women’s titles respectively in 2017, ending the year and beginning 2018 with the SmackDown gold.

In March 2019, Flair defeated Asuka for the SmackDown Women’s Title, ahead of the WrestleMania 35 Winner Takes All main event against Becky Lynch and Raw Women’s Champion Ronda Rousey.

Flair notably defeated NXT Women’s Champion Rhea Ripley at WrestleMania 36 in early 2020, before going on to reign with the WWE Women’s Tag Team Title with Asuka at the end of the year.

After starting 2021 as a WWE Women’s Tag Team Champion, Flair went on to win the Raw Women’s Championship in the summer, which she ‘swapped’ for Becky Lynch’s SmackDown Women’s Title after she moved to the Blue Brand.

Rousey defeated Flair for the SmackDown Women’s Title at WrestleMania Backlash in May 2022. Liv Morgan and Rousey notably defeated each other for the gold earlier that year, ahead of Flair’s return and title win.

For a list of every WWE title change that took place in 2022, click here.

Think you’re a wrestling mastermind? Well you can prove it by taking quizzes in our brand new quiz section! Don’t forget to tweet us your results!

Share this article with friends