Big Title Change At New Japan Road

3 years ago by Tempest

Big Title Change At New Japan Road

Hot Potatoe, pass it on. The IWGP Tag Team Championships have changed hands as Hiroshi Tanahashi and Kota Ibushi defeated the Guerrillas of Destiny. This is the first time the duo has won the titles.

Tama Tonga and Tanga Loa had only been champions for three weeks. They had defeated FinJuice at The New Beginning in USA earlier this month.

This marks the third time the titles have changed hands in 2020. Tanahashi and Ibushi formed their team at New Year Dash when they defeated Bullet Club in an eight-man tag match. They then became the number one contenders once GoD won the titles back.

Ibushi and Tanahashi both suffered huge disappointments at Wrestle Kingdom 14. Ibushi lost both of his matches to Kazuchika Okada and Jay White in the Double Gold Dash, while Tanahashi lost to Chris Jericho.

Now, the duo has the chance to start again as a tag team.

Are you a fan on Hiroshi Tanahashi and Kota Ibushi as a tag team? Let us know on Twitter!

Share this article with friends