NJPW Announces Lineup For Best Of The Super Juniors

2 years ago by Brian Joyce

NJPW Announces Lineup For Best Of The Super Juniors

Since the conclusion of the G1 Climax, fans have been anticipating the lineup reveal for the Best of the Super Juniors. Now, the lineup for the upcoming tournament has finally been revealed.

Typically the tournament takes place in the Spring but the pandemic caused this to change. The field is also usually larger than this year’s. In recent years, the tournament was split into two blocks with eight-to-ten participants in each block. This year, there are only ten participants total.

During today’s Road to Power Struggle, New Japan revealed this year’s list of entrants. Here is the list:

  • Taiji Ishimori
  • Hiromu Takahashi
  • El Desperado
  • Yoshinobu Kanemaru
  • Master Wato
  • Ryusuke Taguchi
  • Robbie Eagles
  • SHO

Of the ten participants in this year’s Best of the Super Juniors, only two have won the tournament previously. Those two are Hiromu Takahashi and Ryusuke Taguchi who won the tournament in 2018 and 2012 respectively.

Master Wato will be making his debut in this year’s tournament. He is the only one who has not competed previously. On the other end of the spectrum is Taguchi who is competing in his 17th Best of the Super Juniors, by far the most of anyone competing this year. For reference, the next closest is BUSHI with eight.

What are your thoughts on the above story? Let us know in the comments on Twitter or Facebook.


Share this article with friends