Two Title Matches Announced For NXT Heatwave

10 months ago by Sanchez Taylor

Two Title Matches Announced For NXT Heatwave WWE

Two championship matches have been announced for the upcoming NXT TV special, NXT Heatwave.

On Tuesday’s (July 26) edition of NXT 2.0, it was confirmed that NXT Heatwave will take place on August 16.

During the special episode, Bron Breakker will defend his NXT Championship against  JD McDonagh (fka Jordan Devlin). Breakker and McDonagh will meet in a Heatwave Summit segment on next week’s episode of NXT 2.0 to make their title match official.

Breakker is currently in his second reign as NXT Champion, after defeating Dolph Ziggler for the gold on the April 4 edition of WWE Raw.

The NXT Women’s Championship will also be on the line at NXT Heatwave, with Zoey Stark set to challenge for Mandy Rose’s gold.

On this week’s NXT 2.0, Rose pointed out that she’s now the fourth longest reigning Women’s Champion in NXT history. Rose has held the title for over 274 days, winning the title from Raquel Rodriguez (Raquel Gonzalez) at NXT Halloween Havoc 2021.

More matches for the Heatwave special will be announced in the coming weeks.

WWE reportedly has the next NXT premium live event slated for September 4, the same day as AEW All Out.

Stay up to date with NXT win/loss records for 2022 using our tracker at this link.

To make sure you stay updated with all the latest wrestling news, add to your Google Discover feed and follow us on Twitter!

Share this article with friends