Seth Rollins Broke “Secret” Vince McMahon Rule On WWE Raw

3 years ago by Nate

Seth Rollins Broke “Secret” Vince McMahon Rule On WWE Raw

It’s no secret Vince McMahon has some things he considers to be off-limits or non-negotiables. Whether it is not saying 6’7”, sneezing in front of him, not putting your chairs back after you get up, or sleeping, Vince has certain guidelines you must follow.

According to Bryan Alvarez on Wrestling Observer Radio, Seth Rollins broke one of those “secret” rules Vince McMahon holds near and dear to his heart. What was it?

Well, if you, like me, wondered what happened to cause the disqualification in the Rollins/Murphy vs. Mysterio/Black match, then you would find out that McMahon considers it forbidden for the non-legal man to touch the legal man when wrestling in a tag match.

As Oli Davis often sings: “What are the rules?” Apparently, this is one Vince won’t budge on.  According to Alvarez:

“There is in fact a secret rule, it’s a Vince McMahon rule. In a tag team match…you know how you tag and there’s 5 seconds when you can both be in the ring at the same time, right? If I tag you, for 5 seconds we can both be in the ring as the referee counts to 5.

“However, outside of that 5 seconds if you are not the legal man, you cannot touch the other team’s legal man. Vince is adamant that this be enforced. If you are legal, you are allowed to hit the other team’s illegal man but the illegal man cannot touch the legal man. So Rey, because he’s legal, is allowed to hit Seth on the apron but Seth on the apron is not allowed to hit Rey. Seth can hit Aleister because they are both illegal. Legal can hit illegal but illegal cannot hit legal but illegal can hit illegal.”

Apparently, Vince is so adamant about this rule the ref stopped the match. Refs are supposed to call the match like it isn’t scripted. That is supposedly why the match ended awkwardly.

It’s possible this was the planned finish, but the speculation was the match ended a bit early because Seth broke Vince’s rule. They transitioned into the post-match attack fairly seamlessly, but it seems the DQ was not the planned finish.

Thanks to for the transcription

Share this article with friends